Nicaraguan Food Experiments…

At school, we have to do a presentation on our country in Central or South America. Tomorrow, I am going to do mine, and I am really excited! We are supposed to make it creative, so I decided to make a drink from Nicaragua called ‘horchata de arroz’, which means ‘latin sweet rice beverage’. I did not present today, because we did not have anything to drink it out of, so when I got home, I decided to make a Nicaraguan cake called ‘pastel de tres leches’, which means ‘cake of three milks’. We have never made this before, so we did not know how it would turn out. It said that it would make a thick, fluffy, and buttery cake. When we mixed the butter and the sugar together, it was a bit lumpy, but we added the eggs and just went along with it. It called for a half cup of butter, and we thought that seemed reasonable, so we mixed it up and put it in the oven. When the timer rang 25 minutes later, we looked into the oven, and saw that the whole cake was submerged in butter. The butter was boiling up from the bottom and pooling at the top, and I have no idea why, but I found this really funny. We came to the conclusion that it is pretty hard to make a ‘bad’ cake. We drained the butter off into a little jar, and let the cake cool.

After my voice lesson, we went to grocery store to pick up ingredients for the second part.

It was a lot of fun, even though it did not turn out quite as planned. I think that if we make it again, it would go a lot smoother.

Leave a Reply

